Red Soles

Image

I always knew I was destined to wear red soles Of course I`d a pair of Louboutins in mind. Not these uber swish orthotics.

Yep,I`ve joined the Orthotic Club. No, it`s not quite in the same bracket as the Warfarin club. Or the poor men in the Prostate Club. But still, it sure feels like a dreaded Age Issue.

Health practioners won`t get rich on me. But my feet have been sounding a few warning bells ever since my last Long Slow Run.(LSR) They practically sprouted mega sirens when I dragged myself through the last two miles of a twenty mile run. Same story in the marathon. Only the collapse came at the twelve mile point.

Time to pay attention.

Oh I`m fond of the self healing option. Like listening to what my body tells me it needs. Often, a good rest does the trick. Or really stretching out properly, or enjoying a relaxing swim

But my feet have always been telling darker tales. I get hard skin really regularly.(Warning:This blog post can only get less pretty so stop here if you must). That demands the kind of scraping only a good podiatrist can do. Callouses, corns. All those ugly horrible words for ugly horrible conditions. Yep, have them.Katy whips out her magic wand aka callous file and zap! they`re gone!

My toes are very squished together too. And I get the odd twinge from my Achilles and less occasionally, shin splints.Like my feet can`t cushion my legs properly.

The cause of those conditions( in my case, and in Katy`s expert opinion) is foot hypermobility.

Yay, at last. A foot condition that actually sounds good!

My toes are very flexible. So are the joints in my feet. Seems my tendons and muscles have a job holding all that flexibility together and so wham, sometimes they plain give up and my feet go splat.

On the plus side, the rest of me is very flexitle too. I always loved stretching, yoga, gymnastics. And now I know why. Because I`m hypermobile! Of course I didn`t know that term until today. But it really helped to make sense on why I need all that bendy stretchy exercise stuff in my life

Solution for my uber flexible feet? €100 for super sexy orthotics. I can stick them in any pair of shoes provided of course, it has enough depth to hold them in place. After a couple of weeks my legs/feet will have adapted to them and my feet will readjust to a more comfortable position.

That`s the theory. I`m giving it my best shot.

Throwing in specific foot exercises as well and, as you can see,I`ve hauled out my yoga mat too.It`s going to play an important role in my rejigged training plan.

.Of course there`s the little niggle of whether this hypermobility will come between me and my desire to run faster.Off to research that one now.

Meanwhile I have to be happy with the fact that I`m one super flexbile girl with great red soles…

I love reading, and responding to, your comments. Thank you.

