Snow Show

Couldn`t wait to get my runners on this morning. Not because I`m super dedicated. Ha! No! It was a flurry of snow that got me really motivated. Damned if I was going to be tackling all that white stuff if it stuck to the ground.

Anyway, peer closely at the pic,reader, and see if you can spot any snow in dem der clouds…..

Image

Yep, this is where I got to. One of my favourite jaunts, down by the river and heading towards town.

In the end up, the dreaded white blanket never materialized. And I got a fastish six mile run in. Faster than usual because I was f-f-f-freezing if I slowed down at all. Thermal base layer and fleece were working over time to keep me toasty too.

From what I could gather on the garmin my times were around the 10 min mile mark. And then, for the last mile, I sped up a bit to push me under the 9 min mile mark.

Felt really good throughout too. Best I`ve felt, fitness wise, since my pre marathon days. So maybe injury and subsequent loss of fitness are behind me now.

The only bit of bad news is that my Garmin ant stick(a kind of memory stick thingy that takes data off the Garmin and slots it into the garmin connect website) wouldn`t work when I got home. I sure hope its just a temporary glitch. I mind that baby better than my own kids. It goes straight from lap top to being stowed away in a little pouch after I“ve uploaded the data. Can`t understand why it would play up.

And I need it for next week. I will be trying new routes from Tuesday. All the way from Girona in Spain! Ooohh, the lengths I`ll go to to make my jog-and my blog-interesting!

I also happen to have  heap of work related stuff to do out there but yes, running is definitely on the cards. In fact I`m going to wear most of my running gear on the flight, just to sidestep having to lug my Brooks running shoes in my Ryanair flight bag.

Anyway, round up of this week`s runs is pretty good. I`ve hit the grand total of twenty two miles. Also ran intervals and dug myself out of the post 10 min mile zone. The key thing seems to have been last Sunday`s long slow run. Those nine miles, not only pushed the weekly total, but also gave me the confidence to believe I can climb back into the marathon training zone again. Plus, I really, really enjoyed being out there.

Would love another chance at that tomorrow. Depends on the darned weather though. A snow show will mean a no show. So, here`s hoping….

One thought on “Snow Show

  1. I love running in the snow! So much better than the rain. Sounds like your training is going really well. I have 10miles to do tomorrow and I’m dreading the cold out there, always causes a massive dilemma as to what to wear! Fingers crossed you get no snow, but if it comes it really is great to run in x

I love reading, and responding to, your comments. Thank you.

