Eight Miles! Eight Miles!

New Runners

Whey! Hey! New shoes! Couldn`t wait to break these babies out of their box….

Well, um, I actually waited two whole days. Got them on Saturday but hey, that would be too soon to break `em in, no? And, I had to eat my way through Chocolate Mountain yesterday. Only cos it was Easter Sunday, and my duty, you understand. Would even have run, had my chocolate chomping duties not intervened.

Anyway, today was the day. See, I even kitted out in matching turquoise fleece!

Had no idea where my run would take me though. Had a tentative aim of going for a Long Slow Run(LSR) what with having skipped my regular one on the Sunday. The weather was grand-too cold for everything else, but perfect for running. And I`d nothing else on. Yes, clothes on, of course(you horrible person!) but no fixtures, no duties. No, not even chocolate chomping ones.

Off I went. Actually aimed to do my weekly hill run and gallop on a bit from there. And, in the end up, followed on the road for four miles, right along a whole new route.

The thrills of a new route!

Ok, it was boring old country roads for the most part but…

primroses

I got to see my first primroses of the year. Love those little blooms.

common_goldcrest

And got to see this little fellow too, flitting about in a hedge. Nope, can`t claim credit for the pic. He was moving too fast for me, after all. But he`s the spitting image of the guy I saw. (How do birds tell one from the other anyhow?). A goldcrest is a goldcrest, right? Smallest bird in Ireland. Or is that the wren? Correct me, someone, cos I`m too damn lazy to go google right now. Anyway, that pic was shamelessly blagged  from http://www.birding.in/birds/Passeriformes/Regulidae/common_goldcrest.htm

Such are the things lots of good runs are made from. Plenty of tedium and boredom. Relieved only by the joys of nature and…

…. Seán Moncrieff on my earphones. Ah, yes, gotta love Newstalk. And Seán. He was being his usual sensationalist self of course,  discussing zombie symphosiums or “zombiephosiums” as he dubbed them, oh and yes, the  changing size of otter`s penises. He also squished in an item on the attractions of serial killers`s art in the art market, and ho hum, other stuff not meant for kiddie`s ears. Yep, um, only on Newstalk…

Anyway, `twas all good LSR fodder. Kept me moving.

Not too swiftly mind. Though it was mainly uphill. For the first four miles, anyway. And eight miles in total. At a tad above 10 mins per mile. No, not the quickest. But sure there`s all of April to work on the speed front, right?

Plan for the week? Keep running, but pushing speed this time, not distance. Keep knitting-gotta rippit again tonight. Don`t ask, but it`s not back to the very start…. Keep cooking. Yottam Ottolenghi`s really doing it for me these days. And build the old pic gallery. Absolutely loving being Out There for Spring.

But running does that to me all the time.

6 thoughts on “Eight Miles! Eight Miles!

    • The new trainers are Brooks Adrenaline. I`ve mentioned them in the previous post. Brooks Ghost are similar but with less support. The Adrenalines are for folk like me who underpronate. At least I think that`s the correct terminology. And I`m not too sure if all this overpronating/underpronating thing is over used to hype up trainer sales either.But these runners suit me.

I love reading, and responding to, your comments. Thank you.

