Sheep Runs and Cookies

Ewes and Lambs

Ewes and Lambs

I am lucky enough in live in the midst of rolling countryside. In fact, I have lots variety available to me for any of my runs-woodland, beack, parkland, fields, towpaths and roads. I always delight in finding new routes. It takes the tedium out of running.

During the week, one of my runs took me to a sheep field. What a delight at this time of the year! The lambs and ewes were cordoned off by a high wooden fence.

There is such a sweetest and innocence, of course, about little lambs as they leap about in their mother`s wake. And Mother is ever so protective, moving off at the first sign of danger-me!- her lambs following suit after.

And here`s me…

Long Shadow

Long Shadow

…leaning on the high fence. Any excuse to take a break from the running.

Did run yesterday. Had three and half miles done before my garmin died. It`s okay, just out of charge.  Foot fared fairly well. Just more painful for the first mile and then eases off. Anyway, I took garmin death as a sign to stop myself.

And went home to bake pistachio nut cookies.

 

Pistachio nut cookies 600

It really intrigues me that anything I cook, never, ever, looks like the pic in the recipe.See how my cookies are all different sizes? And overcooked?

The fact that there are three teenagers in the henhouse means I have lower standards: I know any kind of cookie I throw up at them will be eaten.Once its called a cookie, they feel dutybound  to eat it as quickly as possible.Maybe if I start called Irish stew cookie stew they might eat that as well….

Cookie recipe is from One Dough, Fifty Cookies. I`ve made about ten different cookies from it so far. And yes, as the title suggests, their all built around the same recipe-8oz butter, creamed with 5 oz butter. Peg a beaten egg yolk and 2 tsp of vanilla essence into that. Fire in 10 oz of flour into the mix with a pinch of salt. There`s your dough.

Add any flavourings you care to think about. If I reduce the flour by two ounces, I can add 2 ounces of cocoa for chocolate cookie dough. Or peg in any kind of nuts. Now form the dough into balls and place well apart on your baking sheets. Cook for 10-12 min at 190/375 or Gas 5. The chocolate cookie has been the most popular cookie in the henhouse to date. I didn`t even get a chance to set up a photo shoot for the resulting cookies.

I have zero interest in eating cookies myself. But I`ll have a little nibble, just to check for gooey factor. And lately, I`m getting more interest in testing cookies with my coffee.

Coffee Break

Coffee Break

Yep, my idea of heaven…great coffee and the Irish Times in the local, little, super cool coffee shop. I asked for a cookie too, just for the nibble test. It made my morning to know mine are even nicer. I just need to work on the shape and size and overcooked factor.

Okay, got to go run off some cookie nibbling….

5 thoughts on “Sheep Runs and Cookies

  1. My Garmin’s virtually an antique now – all the young ones have these apps on their smartphones that knock spots off it. Your cookies have character RH and I’m sure they’re delicious.

I love reading, and responding to, your comments. Thank you.

