Sunshine Run

Canal Bank Irises

Canal Bank Irises

I wish it could be June, and 22 degrees Celsius, all year round. I`d never get tired of it.

Today`s run saw me lost amid June`s abundance. I trotted along a glorious three miles of it before opting for intervals.

These kind of intervals are a lot of fun. I`d run a little faster than usual and stop when I`d spot something pretty. Or even, very mildly pretty if I were feeling a tad too over worked. Then I`d whip our my li`l ol` digital camera and snap.

What is life if full of care/ you have no time to stand and stare/ and take pics. Right?

Lush growth

Lush growth

This is the pathway I ambled along. One of the things I love about running is that it makes me so much more aware of the seasonal changes. Actually, even a week can make a whole difference to this scene. Just as two days of sunshine and showers can make it particularly lush in June.

Canal Bank June 4

Anyone know the name of those really tall white umbrella headed flowers? Yes, I could go google but dammit, it`s just easier to go pick my fellow bloggers brains instead.

See the water in the pic? Well, I reckon by next week that will be full of yellow water lilies. Gorgeous. Reminds me to go to a waterlily hunt in the National Botanical Gardens as their water lilies are of the pink and white variety. Even more luscious than yellow, in my opinion. Very Monet.

Canal bank done and my intervals continue up along a meadow. The meadow is entirely wild. No pesticides, no fertilisers, it’s just let be so it`s a haven for all sorts of botanical delights such as these…

Willowherb

I`ve captioned them `willowherb` but I`ve a feeling that`s not right. Luckily, this is an interactive blog: feel free to whip your red pen out and correct my botanical inaccuracies.

And there was a delightful profusion of these….

Meadow in June

Meadow in June

In fact, the meadow was swathed in great white patches of Ox-eye daisies waving their pretty heads in homage to the evening sun.

I`d swear they were actually singing “Summertime, an` the livin` is easy…”

Or maybe that was me.

14 thoughts on “Sunshine Run

  1. Great pictures. 🙂 I think the white umbrellas are Hogweed (Heracleum sphondylium – not a pretty name in English or Latin!), at least that’s what the leaves look like. I found a pink one a few days ago – very pretty. I call those daisies Dog Daisies – but it’s just an alternative name for Ox-eye Daisies. There are loads of them round here too – lovely cheerful flowers, but they don’t smell so good. We’ve got some in a vase on the kitchen table, and the other day I was wondering what the smell was – I thought it was dirty socks, but eventually tracked it down to the flowers!

    I agree with the flags (though I call them just Yellow Flag) and the Ragged Robin. I love wild flowers! I spent today practising identifying grasses and sedges – good fun, but quite a challenge, looking at tiny green flowers all day.

    • Interesting about the Ox-eye smell. I used to make extravagant bouquets of wild flowers for my home in the past. Even little posies of them look adorable. I have a wonderful wild flower book-really, a big hard backed tome-by Zoe Devlin called “Wildflowers of Ireland”. I must pull it out and get studying.
      Thank you very much for your help in identifying the plants in my pics. Love your blog, by the way. You do more than just run, you really observe your environment.

  2. Pingback: #juneathon 23 – contains gore. | moorhenscampers

  3. How we wish every day in June could be like this 🙂 Love the photos taken on the run.
    I’d take a cordless strimmer to tackle the vegetation, I’d cut my leg off with a machete !

  4. Aha, your intervals are just like mine! The yellow iris are sweet flag iris (Iris pseudoacorus); the tall umbrella ones may be water hemlock (don’t nibble them to test) but may be a lot of other things too; the pink ones we call ragged robin (Lychnis flos-cuculi); and I am rubbish with daisies, but might be ox-eye daisies (Leucanthemum vulgare). Bet you will never ask again! Gorgeous photos.

    • Delighted with that, Moorhen. Thank you. Yes, ragged robin, that`s the one. Great to get some positive ID on the other ones too. I know who to ask again if I`m trying to identify some botanical delight!

  5. Cow parsley? How come your path is passable and mine over grown with leg attacking nettles? Next path run I do I am taking a machete!
    Great pics

I love reading, and responding to, your comments. Thank you.

