Bitter Sweet

Lemon Drizzle-well, sorta

Lemon Drizzle-well, sorta

Keep it simple, Stupid! is a favourite mantra of mine. No wonder Mary Berry`s Simple Cakes is such a big hit then at the Chook House.

Having made a pilgrimage in search of some cake delights last week, and failed abysmally in that quest, my tastebuds were still craving something zingy and sweet.

Just a little morsel, with my black coffee, Doc. Swear I won`t overdo it.

Thumbing through “Simple Cakes” I hit the jackpot: Lemon Drizzle Traybake

Cake`s good, but cake`s usually a big fat wedge. Sure, I can cut `em into skinnier slices but the temptation`s waaay too much for me. Traybakes lend themselves easily to smaller portions. Decision made.

I laughed out loud when I read how simple this cake is. It`s basically a gather simple ingredients, mix `em all together and bake cake.  Why, it`s so simple even a man could do it.

  • 225g (8 oz) butter , softened
  • 225g (8 oz) caster sugar
  • 275g (10 oz) self-raising flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 tablespoons milk
  • finely grated rind of 2 lemons

Drizzle

  • 175g (6 oz) granulated sugar
  • juice of 2 lemons
A traybake or roasting tin 30 x 23 x 4 cm (12 x 9 x 1 ½ inches)

Cuts into about 30 squares
1.Cut a rectangle of non-stick baking parchment to fit the base and sides of a traybake tin or roasting tin, 30 x 23 x 4 cm (12 x 9 x 1 ½ inches). Grease the tin and then line with the paper, pushing it neatly into the corners of the tin. Pre-heat the oven to 160°C/325°F/Gas 3.

2.Measure all the ingredients for the traybake into a large bowl and beat well for about 2 minutes until well blended. You could do that with a wooden spoon, but why bother if you have an electric mixer? Turn the mixture into the prepared tin.  Level the top gently with the back of the spatula.

3.Bake in the middle of the pre-heated oven for about 35-40 minutes or until the traybake springs back when pressed lightly with a finger in the centre and is beginning to shrink away from the sides of the tin.

4.Allow the traybake to cool in the tin for a few minutes then lift the traybake out of the tin still in the lining paper. Carefully remove the paper and put the traybake onto a wire rack placed over a tray (to catch drips of the topping).

5.To make the crunchy topping, mix the lemon juice and granulated sugar in a small bowl to give a runny consistency. Spoon this mixture evenly over the traybake whilst it is still just warm. Cut into about squares when cold.

My Opinion of my Cake:

I overcooked it a little. Of course being a very foolish red hen, I decided I`d have enough time to drop one of the chooks to her tennis match and whip back home to take the cake out of the oven. Well, all I can say is that it wasn`t burnt.

I was not happy about was my drizzle either. This is my second attempt at lemon drizzle cake and honestly, I just can`t seem to get the lemon syrup to melt into the cake. It just all settled in a kind of gloopy mess on top. That`s why I`ve bolded the still just warm part of the recipe. Maybe my cake had cooled too much? But, I`m not too keen on dumping another heap of sugar on top of a cake anyway. So, next time, I`m going to make a runny lemon icing and just drizzle that really lightly on top.

That said, my little mouthful of lemon delight went down very well with my coffee, thank you. Ran three miles after that and it had me zinging around the fields.

5 thoughts on “Bitter Sweet

  1. Mouth watering – have no sweet tooth,but I do like a piece of Lemon Drizzle . Mary Berry is something of a national treasure , but Marks and Spencer do a very acceptable alternative for time constrained bakers ! Yummy post ! 🙂

I love reading, and responding to, your comments. Thank you.

