Autumn Blooms at Ardgillen

My running week went exactly as planned. In other words, I had a nice long rest from it all.

It worked out well too coinciding, as it did, with a major week at work and a full blown headcold. I needed the break on some front.

I did put the head out a couple of times, though. And one of those trips was to Ardgillen park. Teen Girl, gasp, asked to go running with me and Ardgillen fitted the bill. With all it`s colour and wonderful views, it`s a lovely place to run. Teen Girl wouldn`t stretch too far beyond a two mile trot, but that was fine with me too.

After the run, I headed back down to take a few pictures of the place. I was very impressed by the sight of all those flowers in bloom as I hadn`t expected to see quite so many at this time of the year.

But, as you can tell from the captions, gardening isn`t my forte. There are so many plants that I failed to identify. And no, don`t be impressed by those I have captioned correctly. I photographed any plant identity tabs I`d found in advance of snapping the related plant.

If you can identify any of the unlabelled ones, I`d really appreciate it. I`ve numbered them in the hope that it would make your task a little easier.

It`s inspired me to dig up a new shrub bed at the Chook House and maybe have some similar colour on display next autumn. But I`ll need to know what I`m looking for first,if I am ever to find it.

Here`s hoping I find my fitness again this week too. as I hit the road again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Autumn Blooms at Ardgillen

  1. Oooo lovely! That greenhouse is spectacular. And a flower challenge – mmm!

    I’m stumped with the big daisy-like ones (5 and 14) – I should be able to remember what they are, but I can’t! I think ‘aconite’ fits number 4, rather than 5 though. There are two entirely different aconites. They’re both in the buttercup family, but don’t look at all similar. One is the little yellow spring flowers that look like choirboys with ruffs round their necks, and the other is the tall blue monkshoods or wolf’s-bane (I think that’s 4). Close relative to delphiniums I think.

    8 and 11 might be the same thing, though I’m not at all sure, as they look different – Centarea dealbata, Persian knapweed. (Or maybe Sweet Sultan, but I don’t think so.)

    10 is another Geranium, but they’re really hard to name as there are loads of hybrids.

    13 is growing in my garden, but can I remember its name? OK, checked my photos – Verbena bonariensis. I took a photo of the pot it came in. πŸ™‚ The usual ones are very tall, about 1m high, but the one I bought is a shorter one called Lollypop – a really lovely plant.

    15 is Helenium I think – I bought that this year too. I love red-gold flowers. Bees love this too.

    Ooooo! Just had a brainwave – I think the big daisies are Echinacea. Quick google check – yes, that looks right.

    Thanks, I enjoyed that mental challenge to dig out plant names from the murky depths of my brain. πŸ™‚ Not that you need names to enjoy their beauty.

    • You are just so kind! Thank you for your wonderful comment! It was practically a blog post in itself and full of the most wonderful information! Looks like i am going to have to have verbena, Echinacea, Helenium and Delphinium in my new garden bed. You`re a whizz with plants. And thank you for taking all that time!

    • Oh, this is embarrassing…. I thought I`d replied to this wonderful comment Hedwigia. But it seems my words got lost in cyberspace. Sorry! And THANK YOU! for such a wonderful commentary on each of these plants. So wonderful to know the names of these lovely flowers before I go a-hunting. Now I know I`d love some Echinacea,Helenium, monkshoods and verbena in my garden. Thank you so much!

I love reading, and responding to, your comments. Thank you.

