Been Sitting Around Too Much?

Lussac Saint Emilion

Too Many Cosy Nights on the Sofa?

Had your fill of this annual Munchfest?

Been laying about sipping too much red wine, eating too many mincepies, and watching too much Downton Abbey?

Well, here`s a little vimeo clip to give you pause. The dangers of sitting is something I`d looked at in 2012 and shared them here.

But this little clip sums it all up very succinctly, and with great humour. It`s just shy of three minutes long, and is very entertaining. And informative, of course.

Please note that it is sponsored by an office furniture company! But a lot of it`s information ties in with the research presented by Dr Michael Mosley in BBC`s “Trust Me I`m a Doctor” series.  And Mosley`s central message of standing, and moving, as often as you can is very much endorsed here.

Right, I`m going to watch the rest of Downton Abbey from a standing position at the ironing board….

Credits:

Vimeo clip is by flikli.com

15 thoughts on “Been Sitting Around Too Much?

  1. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout of your blog?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content
    so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1
    or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  2. There’s no such thing as too much Downton Abbey! (Which is also my knitting time.) But thanks for the reminders about the dangers of too much sitting. Bloggers and people with desk jobs (I am both), surely need to be reminded of this often.

  3. I remember your last post on this since when I have been conscious of sitting too long at any one time so have taken heed and tend to move about more. I’ve always been a bit fidgety so now I have good reason I don’t regard the fidgeting as irritating!

    • Its made me more aware of fidgety kids too! They need to fidget! It`s natural! Sitting about always drove me nuts, unless I was accomplishing something useful, like writing. But mostly, I prefer to be moving and now I know why!

  4. Active sitting, hmm. Guess it makes sense but I think it’s a bit overegged unless you’re literally chained to your desk for eight hours. Maybe some desk jobs are like that, call centres and suchlike. Try telling the boss there that you need time out to do a few lunges 🙂

  5. OK. I was going to go out for a nice walk until I saw that picture of a great looking wine and a cozy fireplace. Guess what I’m doing instead? This one’s on you, Red Hen!

I love reading, and responding to, your comments. Thank you.

