Exercise Equipment

Since it`s perfectly acceptable to do any exercise every day for Janathon, and since most training plans advise some cross training anyway, I`ve bought two new instruments of torture…

Must Have Exercise Equipment

…yes, it`s a skipping rope, and a weighted hoop.

I haven`t actually used either of them yet, beyond checking that I could actually skip rope.

I haven`t even been tempted  to hula the hoop. It seems alarming big.

Here`s hoping they don`t land up in the attic along with my must-have abdominal exerciser, assorted weights and pilates bands.

The Abdominal Cruncher aka Waste of Space

The Abdominal Cruncher aka Waste of Space

Of all those things, the abdominal exerciser bugged me the most.

There`s nothing remotely discrete about it. It has an ungainly shape that makes it difficult to store anywhere else besides the attic. It only serves one purpose. It cannot be used as a clothes horse, say(though I`ve tried), or as extra seating for guests,(though they`ve tried).

It cannot be used to exercise any other part of the body besides doing stomach crunches. In fact, it`s one big fat advertisement that the owner in blighted with slack tummy muscles, or, unwanted abdominal fat.

Or, in my case, both.

So yeah, it had to go.

The pilates bands? I don`t believe I ever used them. They were a bargain, I recall, purchased in the heat of the moment and with a big fat promise to Self that I`d attend Pilates lessons someday.

Only Someday, being the eighth day of the week. never arrived.

Luckily, the Pilates equipment had all the discretion the abdominal exerciser lacked. It never taunted me for it`s lack of use. And didn`t gossip about which bits of me needed toning up. So I don`t feel quite so guilty about not using them. In fact, maybe one of the Teens will find a use for them soon.

They`ve already bagged the weights and built up a little collection of their own.

There`s something about Teen Boys and weights. As soon as they hit fifteen, suddenly, you`ll hear the plop, plop and thump, thump of weight lifting and calisthenics and all sorts of training regimes from their bedrooms. My only quibble is, that they`ve taken chunks out of the plaster, and floorboards from over enthusiastic use.

But they sure show their mother up with their dedication to boring exercise drills.

Indeed, given my track record, why should I expect to use the hoop and the rope. No idea.

Eternal optimism, maybe?

Mind you,  it`s early days with Janathon with plenty of cross training days ahead in the half marathon plan.

Oh, and plenty of time for you to sign up to some daily exercise routine if you want. You can have my ab cruncher, actually, and the Pilates bands, if that helps!

Or you could follow The Irish Times eight week online running course. I just saw it in the paper today and it`s a really cool coach to 5km programme. And, from what I can see, there`s no charge for it either.

While considering all these options though, please, `fess up, yourself and tell me if you`ve any exercise equipment that you simply had to have that`s now gathering dust. I can`t be the only one!

Janathon Day Six-I 1/2 miles intervals

Janathon Day Seven 3 1/2 miles jog

No cross training to date!

9 thoughts on “Exercise Equipment

  1. I have a Wii Fit that cost $30 which was the same cost of a month’s gym membership I was thinking about joining. I made a contract with myself to use it for a month. I did that and it got me into running with all those little Miis so I can’t complain. Now I get a bit of weight lifting out of it when I vacuum under it 🙂

  2. I have a kettle bell that I have never picked up except to move it away from falling on my dog’s foot. I also had a huge exercise ball that the same dog attacked and punctured.

I love reading, and responding to, your comments. Thank you.

