Do Not Stand By My Grave and Weep

Waterlilies

I am lucky enough to live a life where most weeks are roughly predictable and fall into a set pattern. But last week was an exception, as my father passed away.

He gave us his values of kindness, honesty, joie de vivre and a good work ethic. He has left wonderful examples of his creativity and workmanship in each of our homes. And he has inspired my love of history with his stories.

In all of those ways, and more, he continues to be with us in spirit.

Naturally, my Janathon has taken a hit. Unless shaking hands with a few hundred sympathizers counts.

I will crawl back into action this week. And catch up with all those blog posts I missed.

And I will leave you with that wonderful Mary Elizabeth Fry poem which we recalled at Dad`s funeral Mass.

Do Not Stand By My Grave And Weep

Do not stand at my grave and weep

I am not there. I do not sleep.

I am a thousand winds that blow.

I am the diamond glints on snow.

I am the sunlight on ripened grain.

I am the gentle autumn rain.

When you awaken in the morning’s hush

I am the swift uplifting rush

Of quiet birds in circled flight.

I am the soft stars that shine at night.

Do not stand at my grave and cry;

I am not there. I did not die.

42 thoughts on “Do Not Stand By My Grave and Weep

  1. Red Hen, you and your family are in my thoughts. I’m sorry to hear of your loss. And thank you for printing the beautiful poem. I had heard it before, but couldn’t recall the name of the poet.

  2. I read that poem at my mums funeral about ten years ago. She had copied it out into and exercise book that she kept next to her bed…….. all kinds of cool stuff that she came upon in the books that she read.
    Feel for ya kid…….. sorry that I missed this post the first time.
    All our love

    • Ah, thanks, Terry. I`m fine, honest. It`s the natural way of things and the funeral brought it`s own blessings to our family. I believe that poem is very true and find it immeasurably consoling to think that my loved and departed ones are actually closer to hand than ever.

  3. Pingback: Janathon Report | redhenrun

  4. So sorry to hear of your loss. At this time while thinking of your father, take extra care of yourself – be kind to yourself he would have liked that.
    The poem is one that has been recited at a couple of funerals I have attended in the past year.
    It really says it all. And hugs from the other side of the world.

  5. I was very sorry to hear of your loss. I don’t think I’ve read that poem before – it is really rather wonderful, as is the waterlily photo. Take care – more hugs from Warwickshire.

  6. Ah, I’m sorry to hear of your loss – your Dad sounds like a lovely man. Having lost my own father four years ago now I can relate to how you must be feeling – but that poem you chose will ring truer as the days go by. You’ll begin to appreciate that final line because actually, the pictures I carry in my head of Dad become more and more vivid and if I have to make a decision about something I just ask myself what he would tell me. He didn’t die – he’s in my heart.

    • That`s lovely, Jenny. Dying is part of life and something we must learn to deal with as well as we can. And no matter what anyone believes, our loved ones values, and gifts of loving are lived through us anyway, long after they have gone.

  7. Sorry to hear, I lost my dad 11 years ago last week – always loved never forgotten.
    I read All is Well poem by Rev Scott each & ever year. Your poem maybe a good addition, thank you.

  8. Oh I am so very sorry to read your sad news. I am sure that the lovely memories will help blunt the sorrow over time. How lucky was he to have such an observant daughter who will notice the diamond glints on snow…

I love reading, and responding to, your comments. Thank you.

