Back in the Janathon Harness

Last night was one of those nights when I laced up and was all set to run after dinner. Then I let everything stop me in my tracks before I got out that door.

Procrastination seems to kick in every time there a shower of rain. I simply hate running in it.

I did the ironing. All of it. Perfectly, of course.

Did the post dinner clean up, without as much as a grumble.

Helped Teen Son with his homework.

Learnt Pythagoras`s theorem. Willingly. For said son. So we could figure out the area of all sorts of odd combinations of triangles and other shapes. All of which I insisted on discussing with him.

Then I had to ring every member of my family. Of course. And send a few texts too.

Honestly, the only thing that got me out there was the word “Janathon”. After the events of last week, I had to get back in the saddle. Or watch all my fitness slide down the drain. With my blog and all my blogging buddies running swiftly after it.

I eventually hit the streets at ten pm.

It was wet and yes, I was tired. But I ran three miles anyway, and actually felt more energized when I got home.

Lessons learnt
:

  • Forget about waiting for dry weather. Embrace the rain.
  • Janathon really works as a motivational tool.
  • Pythagoras was one cool guy.
22 thoughts on “Back in the Janathon Harness

  1. Sounds like my life over at inanirishhom.com! I am forever telling my husband, “a woman’s work is never done.” That said, I know I am my own worst enemy. I’m off to hit the gym before heading out to check out the sights of the Sundance Film Festival in Park City, UT.

  2. Nice one! Looks like one productive evening. I went for a run too – but did no ironing or learn anything about Pythagoras. Perhaps I should get into procrastinating too …

  3. Or just tell yourself ‘five minutes around the block’ – that way the streak is intact and you’ll most likely go longer once you’re out.
    Raining this evening but I have 40-50 beginners waiting for me – no choice 🙂

  4. Janathon does work, I worry about my woeful record of commitment, but mostly about feeling I can’t join in with my lovely friends here. Well done, you had better excuse not to than most.

I love reading, and responding to, your comments. Thank you.

