Night Skies

Orion the Hunter

Orion the Hunter

Perfect running weather last night. At just above freezing point along the seafront, the skies were clear enough to reveal glittering constellations. Yet, the paths were free of ice.

Had perfect views of Orion on my mile and half outward journey, and lovely views of The Plough on my return.

So three miles under starry skies. Yes, it was very pleasant.

For tonight`s run, the skies had clouded over. But at least it was dry and not too cold. Added another four miles to my Janathon total too so yes, maybe some proper training is beginning to kick in at last.

As most of my Janathon runs happen at night, I`ve decided to take the chance to learn at least a couple of more constellations while I`m out there. I can identify Pleaides, Casseopia and Little Bear along with the aforementioned Plough and Orion. But that`s about it.

Can any of you name any other ones?

 

Picture of Orion from http://www.wired.com/geekmom/2011/03/meet-the-constellations-orion/

 

 

9 thoughts on “Night Skies

  1. I’ve no idea of the constellations – perhaps I should learn them. Jersey (outside St Helier) is pretty good for stargazing I believe, but the island of Sark has been designated the world’s first ‘Dark Sky Island’ 🙂

  2. Our skies are often clear, but the glow from living so close to NYC makes seeing the constellations nearly impossible. I’m always agape when i return to Maine in the summer and the stars are so bright and sparkly and within arm’s reach!

  3. I love star-gazing too (though it gives me a crick in the neck). I hadn’t though of constellations being ‘upside down’ in the southern hemisphere. Taurus is fairly easy to find if you know Orion – it’s up and to the right of his shoulders, a sort of v-shape lying on its left side, though not very bright – and not very bull-like either. The two brightest stars in Gemini aren’t too hard either. I’d have to look up where they are – I think a bit left of Orion.

    Last year I took some long-exposure photos (with the camera on a tripod) and it was much easier working out fainter constellations indoors afterwards. I think one of them was called something like camelopardus – but I’d have trouble finding it again now. I took photos of Jupiter too – and was amazed that I could see three of its moons. I’m not sure if it’s still easily visible, but it was just about the brightest thing in the sky, after the moon.

    • Light pollution sure plays hell with any sort of astronomical hunting. I was lucky enough to be near the sea and with few street lights about-just enough for running though!

  4. Lovely post 🙂 BUT it’s so strange to see old Orion the right way up… here in Australia he’s always on his head. From here his belt and sword look like a saucepan and as a child I was taught to call that part the ‘iron pot’. I can’t identify a lot of constellations but I can see Scorpio, Sagittarius and the Southern Cross. For some reason even though I went to the local Planetarium regularly as a chid these three (plus Orion) were the only ones I ever remembered. Oddly enough I’m a Sagittarian and Paul is a Scorpio who hunts and we live under the Southern Cross – a strange coincidence.

I love reading, and responding to, your comments. Thank you.

