Looking for my Mojo with the Bishop`s Triangles

Bishop`s Triangles

 

I am hunting for my running mojo. Three days in a row without running! So far, I am having a pretty tough time getting into the groove for 2014.

Janathon helped. At least got me out there most days.

Losing a loved one, while it brought lots of blessings, probably didn`t help too much on the running front.

The fact that my feet still hurt, especially when I walk. is concerning. I did three four mile runs last week but two days of walking either side of it and boy, did my feet hurt after those walks.

But at least I`ve got my garmin back. Yay! for all those Garmin people.They don`t repair the item but, for a fee, will actually replace it, so I`m good to go again on that front.

And I have a couple of days off this week with which I will address the foot issue with new orthotics and a foot exercise regime. I am staving off visits to the experts for another while only because I am pretty convinced by Dr Google(yes, I know, I know) that I will be taking down the merry path of conflicting advice when really, I am best placed to know what works for me.

Meanwhile, I am putting the carrot in place again. I have lovely plate of shortbread ready for my afternoon coffee.  But first of all, I’m going to hit the trail and take my fully charged up and spanking new Garmin off on its first outing.

And I`ll leave the plate of deliciousness for you.

This is a shortbread type of recipe. It`s from one of my most favourite cookbooks Mary Berry`s Baking Bible.

Mary Berry bakes it in a square tin, hence she cuts it into fingers or rectangles. Since I only had a circular tin available this morning, mine is in triangles,

But I’ve no idea what any of it has to do with the bishop!

Mary Berry`s Bishop`s Fingers

Ingredients:

  • 100 g plain flour
  • 25 g ground almonds
  • 25 g semolina
  • 100 g butter
  • 50 g caster sugar
  • 3-4 drops almond extract
  • 25 g flaked almonds
  • A little caster sugar, for sprinkling

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 160C/fan 140C/gas mark 3. Lightly grease a 7″ square tin.
  2. Mix together the flour, ground almonds and semolina in a bowl or food processor. Add the butter, sugar and almond extract and rub together with your fingers until the mixture is just beginning to bind together. Knead lightly until smooth. Press the dough into the prepared tin and level the surface with the back of a metal spoon or a palette knife. Sprinkle over the flaked almonds.
  3. Bake in a pre-heated oven for 30-50 minutes or until very pale golden brown. Mark the shortbread into 12 fingers with a knife. Sprinkle with caster sugar and leave to cool in a tin. When completely cold, cut into fingers, lift out carefully and store in an airtight tin.

 

4 thoughts on “Looking for my Mojo with the Bishop`s Triangles

  1. So going to make these shortbread. I make mine with ground rice, so semolina and ground almonds will make a nice change, might even use my shortbread mold I got for Christmas! Thanks. Hope run went well and that you located your mojo. Enjoy your carrot!

I love reading, and responding to, your comments. Thank you.

