Springing Around Ardgillen Park

Water Logged field with Skerries in background`

Yesterday`s was a gentle run in Ardgillen Park, Skerries on the hunt for signs of Spring.

Ardgillen Castle is at the end of a sweeping drive, overlooking the pretty little harbour town, and the Irish Sea. It reminds me of Manderley in Daphne Du Maurier`s Rebecca, though I am not quite sure why.

Ardgillen Castle overlooking the Irish Sea

Perhaps it’s on account of the heavily plastered brickwork, which give it a 1940s feel, and also because of the proximity to the sea, which was an essential part to the Rebecca story.

Rear view Ardgillen Castle

But maybe that’s just me.

I can tell you for sure though, that the grounds are a joy to run in.

Snowdrops in the woods

Set in parkland and woodland, it’s a wonderful place to note the passing of the seasons, as yesterday`s floral delights will testify.

Primrose

Snowdrops-smooth

Daffofils

It`s fallen prey, too, to our recent storms with the felling of trees…

Storm Damage

..and, perhaps, damage to the glasshouse…

People in glasshouses...

Or maybe the glasshouse was due for renovation anyway?

Whatever the cause, it was off limits, as I jogged past, as were other attractions in Ardgillen.

Signpost Ardgillen

Yes, they have a Potentilla Garden here. In fact, not just a potentilla garden but the National Potentilla Garden.

Oh, and if you’re wondering, this is what a potentilla looks like, you can take a peek around here.

Potentilla

Sadly, the potentilla plot was out of bounds to the public when I arrived.

And the walled garden was closed too. But only because I arrived too late.

FYI

The rose garden, though it looked well tended, was a no go area too.

Rose Garden Ardgillen

Thankfully, the polyanthus obliged with a wonderful display of colour

Polyanthus

And, I even caught sight of my first primrose for this year…

Primrose

Had I been distracted with any of the other attractions, my run would not have been quite so good. Instead, I enjoyed four miles of hilly terrain but with grass or trail underfoot watching sign of Spring was good enough for me.

Plenty of reasons then, for a return visit, when, no doubt, the coming seasons will bring more wonders.

14 thoughts on “Springing Around Ardgillen Park

  1. Pingback: Autumn Run | redhenrun

  2. A lovely place for a run – even with those ‘off limits’ areas. Some of your flowers look more advanced than any I’ve seen here – I love primroses – they remind me of childhood.

I love reading, and responding to, your comments. Thank you.

