Hummus

Just a few simple ingredients….

Ingredients hummous

…tossed into this…

Kenwood minichopper

…results in this…

Yummous!

Yummous!

Yes, hummus.

I really do try to take protein in some form or another after exercise. I’ll nibble some cheese, or take a couple of spoonfuls of natural yoghurt. But hummus fits the bill perfectly too. It’s my favourite bread spread and, of course, works really well as a dip.

 

Hummus

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Total Time: 10 minutes

Ingredients

  • 200g/7oz canned chickpeas
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice or more
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • Salt
  • 100ml/3½fl oz tahini (sesame seed paste)
  • 4 tbsp water (or natural yoghurt if you prefer)
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Preparation:
1.Drain the chickpeas and rinse. Reserve a few whole chick peas for serving.

2.Combine the chickpeas, lemon juice, garlic, cumin, salt, tahini, and water in a food processor, and blend to a creamy purée.

3.Add more lemon juice, garlic, cumin or salt to taste. Turn out into a dinner plate, and make smooth with the back of a spoon. Drizzle with extra virgin olive oil and scatter with the reserved chickpeas.

Serve as a dip with carrots, celery or warm pitta bread cut into quarters.

 
If you’re thrilled with that you might want to go the whole hog and use dried chickpeas for your next hummus adventure.

With overnight soaking and 2-3 hours simmering for the chickpeas, it takes a lot longer. But the resulting flavour is worth it. So, if you’ve time on your hands, you can do no better than make hummus the Yottam Ottolenghi way.

Either way, whichever you try, enjoy!

 

12 thoughts on “Hummus

  1. Good job you! I tried making hummus from scratch once (as in from the dried beans). I didn’t like the end product at all. But I’m going to have to try this recipe.

  2. Oh that sounds lovely! I’ll be making it soon.
    I don’t do it on purpose but I do eat protein after a run – I like to run in the evening just before dinner (like that I don’t do lots of snacking after a run, I just have my normal dinner).

  3. Ooh yum, I love hummus! I only tried making it once and it came out weird so I didn’t bother again and just went back to buying it, not sure what I did wrong, I’m going to bookmark this page and have another go using your recipe. It really is a great snack isn’t it.

    • Sorry, Vanessa, about the late reply. Just getting to your hummus comment now. Yes, it’s a great snack food but very nutritious. I hope you enjoy this recipe!

I love reading, and responding to, your comments. Thank you.

