Mary Berry`s Fast Flapjacks

Flapjacks

What`s wrong with a little flapjack and strong black coffee? Okay, probably a lot. But my excuse is, the teens will have cleared the lot before I get a chance to get more than a mouthful.

My problem really lay in finding the perfect flapjack recipe. I struggled for months on this one. But each time I ended up with either a crumbly mess or a sheet of rock.

Mary Berry solved my flapjack woes, however. And, even though the syrup and sugar combo put this recipe into the sugar zone`s stratospeheric heights, I console myself that the kids are at least getting to chow down on lots of oats.

The recipe is easy peasy to put together. Perfect for a first timer.

And, best of all, no crumbs.

Ingredients:

  • 225g (8oz) butter,
  • 225g (8oz) demerara sugar,
  • 75g (3oz) golden syrup,
  • 275g (10oz) porridge oats

Instructions
Preheat oven to 160 degC / Gas 3. Grease a 12 x 9″ tray/roasting tin
Melt butter in a large saucepan with the sugar and syrup then stir in the oats. Mix well and turn into the prepared tin and press down flat with a palette knife or back of a spoon.
Bake for 35  mins or until pale golden brown. Remove from oven and leave to cool for 10 mins before marking into 24 squares. Leave in the tin to finish cooling.

Enjoy!

15 thoughts on “Mary Berry`s Fast Flapjacks

  1. I found there was too much butter in this recipe. Other flapjack recipes have half the amount including another of Mary Berry’s. My mixture was soggy and had to be thrown away. 😦

  2. In the US a flapjack is a cowboy way to call a pancake. You might have one out on the trail by your campfire. I was surprised to read about something quite different with that name! I might have called your flapjack a granola bar.

    Hotcake is another term for a pancake, if you are of a certain generation — the term my grandmother used and my father still does. In our family hotcakes are savory, eaten with tomatoes, sliced onions and pickles. But most people use butter and maple syrup.

    Now I have a new thing to cook!

  3. Pingback: Lies, Damned Lies and… | redhenrun

  4. Pingback: Flapjacks | Slow and steady

  5. Omg I love flapjacks, but am trying healthy eating for a while (well this week) and now I have this recipe I might have to make them this weekend. You are leading me astray RH

    • Don`t worry. I am trying to be healthy myself this week and haven’t strayed near the flapjacks. I think I would die if I didn`t have a treat every now and again, but I don`t go mad after these things like I used to.

  6. Yum! I made flapjacks earlier this week. They didn’t last very long.

    My recipe is one I wrote in my jumble-sale-bought recipe book that dates back to the 1930s (date and signature of original owner in the front, but sadly, none of her recipes, it was just a blank book in a pseudo-parchment binding). I wrote it out when I was in my teens, so it only had cooking temperature in gas, as we didn’t have an electric oven then. The ingredients were much the same as yours, though it was supposed to have baking powder in too – but I gave up putting that in years ago, as it makes your teeth go ‘furry’ (like rhubarb does). Hope that’s not too much information! 🙂

    Now I think I might go and take a photo of my old recipe book for my blog, so thanks for the inspiration.

    • That was fun! I *think* I’ve done a ping-back to my flapjack recipe. I wonder if it will work?

      I hope you don’t mind me testing out how to put links into comments, using your page. I’m not sure whether it will work or not. (I put a test link into my own page, then copied it here, then deleted the link off my page as I didn’t want it there. That may not make any sense…) It’s all learning, of a sort.

      Have all the flapjacks gone yet? 🙂

      • I`m glad you did Hedwigia, You know I was equally curious about that pingback lark after reading your last post on blogging. I still don`t `get`how to do it. But, all in good time.
        Flapjacks last for the weekend. That`s it. It`s back to plain food during the week.

    • Isn`t that interesting? Especially as it`s a Mary Berry recipe. She could well have accessed her recipe from that era too as she is, I think, in her seventies, herself.
      Lovely to see a mature lady being so successful all over again. We need to see more mature ladies on TV, there`s are far too many immature ones!

I love reading, and responding to, your comments. Thank you.